

ETRMA Members' Replacement Tyre Sales in Europe Q2-2022 data calls for caution due to the Ukraine/Russia war

Brussels, 13th July 2022

Today the European Tyre and Rubber Manufacturers' Association published its members' replacement sales for the second quarter 2022.

Q2 2022 confirms a positive trend both in the Consumer (+6%) and Truck (+11%) tyres segments compared to 2021. The economic recovery explains the positive evolution, however we assist to a slowdown in the Consumer segment.

The Agricultural tyre segment remains very negative, being the only category still below 2019 volumes.

In '000 units*	Q2 - 2021	Q2 - 2022	Variation Q2 2022/Q2 2021
	YTD	YTD	
Replacement Consumer ¹ tyres	53.044	56.043	6%
Of which Car Summer tyres			-5%
Of which Car all seasons tyres			27%
Of which Car Winter tyres			28%
Replacement Truck Tyres	3.222	3.562	11%
Replacement Agricultural Tyres	337	265	-21%
Replacement Moto & scooter Tyres	2.826	2.836	0%

"We observe signs of declining demand and fear that the challenges linked to the rising cost of gas, the raw materials and the semi-finished products supply will maintain the industry under pressure", said Mrs Cinaralp, Secretary General of ETRMA.

For further information, please contact <u>communication@etrma.org</u>

About ETRMA

The European Tyre & Rubber Manufacturers Association (ETRMA) represent nearly 4.400 companies in the EU, directly employing more than 350.000 people. The global sales of ETRMA's 14 corporate members represent 70% of total global

sales and 7 out of 10 world leaders in the sector are ETRMA Members¹. We have a strong manufacturing and research presence within the EU and candidate countries, with 93 tyre-producing plants and 17 R&D centres.

¹ ETRMA's membership: APOLLO TYRES, BRIDGESTONE EUROPE, BRISA, CONTINENTAL, GOODYEAR, HANKOOK, MARANGONI, MICHELIN, NEXEN TIRE EUROPE, NOKIAN TYRES, PIRELLI, PROMETEON, SUMITOMO RUBBER INDUSTRIES AND TRELLEBORG WHEEL SYSTEMS. Furthermore, members include Associations in the following countries: Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovak Republic, Spain and the UK.